Coming Back

 Good News! No Stress Fracture! The MRI showed only minor tendonopathy, which is simply small damage to a tendon in my foot. I started working with a physical therapist who has been a god send. I have ran 4 times since last week and no pain! Other than the terrible pain that is called foam rolling. 

  
It is my new nightly ritual and it hurts so good. I have also thrown in some hip strengthening moves due to the fact my physical therapist tested my hip strength and my right hip (the same side as my injured foot) is significantly less strong than my left hip. Sadly this was not new news to me I knew it was weaker which is why I try to focus on core strength and pilates in my extra workouts. What I didn’t realize is how significantly weaker it is meaning it is 50% the strength of my left hip. So lunch hour and nightly routines have been all about the hips.

One thing I want to talk about is running after an injury. Its a major confidence shaker. The hardest part for me is being hyper aware of my foot with each and every step. This is not good at all for running and it can mess with your stride and with your head. I did 5 miles Sunday and the whole run I could not get comfortable and settle in to the run like I normally do. So I took the advice of a good friend and joined him for sprints! Now I know what you are thinking sprints!? after an injury isn’t that too much? Well yes it can be if you push too hard. What we did was at about 75% effort. So Monday we took it simple and did timed miles trying to keep it under 8min we only did 2 but I managed at a 7:40 and a 8 flat. It was tough, but I was working so hard I didn’t have time to think about my feet, I just ran. Wednesday we did a series of 400 repeats which I managed to keep all about 1:30. It was just what I needed, the sprints, while tough and I hate doing them, give me such relief and confidence when I am done. The best part is now I am not worried about getting out there to tackle the 6miles I need to do today or the 13 planned for the weekend.

Things are looking up with the Marathon only 30 days away, however, it is so important for me to remember that I will not know till the day of if I will still run or not. It is going to be a tough call and every piece of me wants to run, but I am going to have to listen to my body and know there will be other marathons. But for now I am going to focus on all things positive and how far I really have come!

  

  
Luckily I have my two cheerleaders always by my side. Nothing fixes stress like running and dog park visit for me πŸ™‚

  

6 thoughts on “Coming Back

  1. I can totally relate to how you’re feeling. It’s been really discouraging, thinking about the progress I’ve lost since my climbing accident. I’m sure you feel the same way with running and your foot injury. I hope you’re recovered enough for the marathon though! Wishing you all the best! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Sooooo jealous of no stress fracture!!! I’m on week 4 of healing from mine (tibia) and I’m slowly watching the running season fade away. But I’m a demon on the stationary bike, whatever that means πŸ™‚ can totally relate to the psychology of the injury. Hard to know when to go and when to slow.

    Like

  3. I must say I’m an avid user of the foam roller and ball, used it religiously while training for my marathon (still do). Lots of icing too. Plus rest, gotta listen to the body. Keep up the good work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

